Vlaar's Penalty Kick vs Argentina

Discussion in '2014 WORLD CUP' started by Armstrong_11, Jul 11, 2014.

  1. Armstrong_11

    Armstrong_11 Spurs makes me happy, you... not so much :)

    Messages:
    5,719
    Ratings Received:
    +8,323 / 136 / -29
  2. Jamturk

    Jamturk Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    5,382
    Ratings Received:
    +9,777 / 976 / -234
  3. Armstrong_11

    Armstrong_11 Spurs makes me happy, you... not so much :)

    Messages:
    5,719
    Ratings Received:
    +8,323 / 136 / -29
    love the way the ball seems to stick to the line......... haha...
     
  4. raiden

    raiden Active Member

    Messages:
    205
    Ratings Received:
    +177 / 5 / -0
    still would not have counted
     
  5. Jamturk

    Jamturk Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    5,382
    Ratings Received:
    +9,777 / 976 / -234

    Why?
     
  6. raiden

    raiden Active Member

    Messages:
    205
    Ratings Received:
    +177 / 5 / -0
    read something a while ago when it happen in some match abroad and their was a reason as to why it shouldn't have stood because of some fifa law
     
    • Informative Informative x 1
  7. Riandor

    Riandor SC Supporter

    Messages:
    7,454
    Ratings Received:
    +7,352 / 117 / -27
    Why?
    If the ball rolls over the line, then its a goal, as long as Vlaar hasn't touched it a second time, which he appears not to have.
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
  8. raiden

    raiden Active Member

    Messages:
    205
    Ratings Received:
    +177 / 5 / -0
    some thing about if a goalkeeper pushes the ball away from the direction of the goal it counts as a save, but if he touches the ball but it can hit the post or goalkeeper as many times as it likes its still a goal.
    I'm not 100% sure but thats what i remember and can't remember where i read this before.
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
  9. chinaman

    chinaman Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    14,929
    Ratings Received:
    +8,804 / 601 / -242
    Vlaar only has himself to blame for missing it. After 120 minutes, it is difficult to place a kick because the muscles are tired and hard to control. Should have blasted it.

    Anyway I'll always bet on the South Americans to beat the Europeans at PKs as generally they have more ball skills.
     
  10. WhiteStripe

    WhiteStripe Legen - wait for it - dary

    Messages:
    13,309
    Ratings Received:
    +1,052 / 23 / -8
    Ah fair play, that explains it then!
     
    • Funny Funny x 1
  11. tototoner

    tototoner SC Supporter

    Messages:
    22,388
    Ratings Received:
    +14,771 / 602 / -173
    Wouldn't have counted because no rebounds during a pen shootout and the ball hit Vlaar after the GK saved it
     
  12. tototoner

    tototoner SC Supporter

    Messages:
    22,388
    Ratings Received:
    +14,771 / 602 / -173
    Useless it's Germany who never lose on pens
     
  13. hughy

    hughy I'm SUPER cereal.

    Messages:
    20,344
    Ratings Received:
    +19,060 / 343 / -168
    This. By the looks of things he realises and tries to move out of the way at the last second.
     
  14. cwy21

    cwy21 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    4,823
    Ratings Received:
    +1,224 / 19 / -4
    If you've ever looked at the laws, you will know that its a fairly small document that doesn't go into detail much. Even less so on KFTPM (penalty shootout). Basically the penalty is over when the referee decides it is over. Had the ball gone in and not touched Vlaar, there would have been a legitimate reason to give a goal. Ref could have said "I decided it was over", which he apparently did cause the video shows him turning away from the ball/goal. Would have been fascinating had it gone it.

    Not as far from goal, but here is an example.
     
  15. Dharmabum

    Dharmabum Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    7,664
    Ratings Received:
    +10,927 / 281 / -89
    Not so; if the ball had crossed the line and it was ruled that Vlaar had not touched the ball a second time the goal would should have been ruled as a goal. Those are the FIFA rules. There are no rules stipulating that the goalie has to push the ball a certain amount of distance from the goal before it "returns" - and eventually crosses the line - for it to be considered a "save" and thus invalidate a eventual goal.
     

Share This Page